Oscar Muñoz

Oscar Muñoz est né à Popayán, en Colombie, en 1951. Il vit et travaille actuellement à Cali, en Colombie.

Muñoz est diplômé de l’Escuela de Bellas Artes en 1971 et a développé sa carrière grâce à une recherche prolifique sur les méthodes de représentation post-modernes, en utilisant des techniques d’impression photographique et mécanique non conventionnelles et la vidéo. Il a créé une imagerie et une historiographie singulière en utilisant des médiums transitoires tels que le souffle humain, l’eau, la poussière et le feu, en se concentrant sur la réalité précaire de la vie humaine.

Présentée pour la première fois en 2011 au Museo de Arte Banco de la República à Bogotá, puis dans plusieurs institutions sud-américaines, et en 2014 au Jeu de Paume à Paris, l’exposition itinérante Oscar Muñoz : Protografías, est la première rétrospective de l’artiste.

Oscar Muñoz a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives dans des institutions internationales telles que le MoMA, New York (2013); le Louvre Abu Dhabi (2019); le Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016); le Jeu de Paume, Paris (2014); la Fondation Sorigué, Lleida, Espagne (2018); SF MOMA, San Francisco (2012); le Musée du Quai Branly, Paris (2019); le Perez Art Museum, Miami (2013); la Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris (2016); CIFO Space for the Arts, Miami (2013); Philadelphia Museum of Art (2010); Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne, Suisse (2016); Port Art Museum, Finlande (2009); Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2008); Museo Tamayo, Mexico (2009); PICA Museum, Perth (2009); Hiroshima Museum of Contemporary Art, Japon (2009); Korea Foundation, Séoul (2008); New South Wales Gallery, Sydney (2009) et le MALI, Lima (2013), entre autres. Il a participé aux 51ème et 52ème éditions de la Biennale de Venise (2005 et 2007).

Les œuvres de Muñoz font partie d’importantes collections publiques et privées, notamment le Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York ; le Centre Pompidou, Paris ; le Musée du Quai Branly, Paris ; le Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles ; le Museum of Fine Arts, Boston ; la Tate Modern, Londres ; le Hirschhorn Museum, Washington DC ; SF MOMA, San Francisco ; le Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires (MALBA), Buenos Aires ; et la Fundacion La Caixa, Barcelone.

En 2018, Oscar Muñoz a reçu le prix de la Fondation Hasselblad et en 2013 le prix Prince Claus.

Partager

Current exhibition

  • Silent Spring
  • Théo Mercier
  • September 5th - October 31st

Oscar Muñoz

Oscar Muñoz was born in 1951 in Popayán, Colombia. He currently lives and works in Cali, Colombia

Muñoz graduated from the Escuela de Bellas Artes in 1971, and has developed his career through a prolific investigation of post-modern methods of representation, using non-conventional photographic and mechanical printing techniques and video. He created a singular imagery and historiography by using transient mediums such as human breath, water, dust and fire, focusing on the precarious reality of human life.

Displayed for the first time in 2011 at the Museo de Arte Banco de la República in Bogotá, then in several South American institutions, and in 2014 at the Jeu de Paume in Paris, the touring exhibition Oscar Muñoz: Protografías was the artist’s first retrospective.

The work of Oscar Muñoz has participated in numerous personal and collective exhibitions in international institutions such as the MoMA, New York (2013); Louvre Abu Dhabi (2019); Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2014); Sorigué Foundation, Lleida, Spain (2018); SF MOMA, San Francisco (2012); Musée du Quai Branly, Paris (2019); Perez Art Museum, Miami (2013); Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, Paris (2016); CIFO Space for the Arts, Miami (2009); Philadelphia Museum of Art (2010); Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne, Switzerland (2016); Port Art Museum, Finland (2009); Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2008); Museo Tamayo, Mexico City (2009); the PICA Museum, Perth (2009); Hiroshima Museum of Contemporary Art, Japan (2009); Korea Foundation, Seul (2008); New South Wales Gallery, Sydney (2009) and the MALI, Lima (2013), among others. He has participated in the 51st and 52nd editions of the Venice Biennale (2005 and 2007).

Muñoz’s works are in important public and private collections including the the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Musée du Quai Branly, Paris; Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles; The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; the Tate Modern, London; Hirschhorn Museum, Washington DC; SF MOMA, San Francisco; the Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires (MALBA), Buenos Aires; and Fundación La Caixa, Barcelona.

In 2018, Oscar Muñoz was awarded the Hasselblad Foundation Award and in 2013 the Prince Claus Award.

Share

Current exhibition

  • Silent Spring
  • Théo Mercier
  • September 5th - October 31st