Hajra Waheed

Hajra Waheed est née en 1980 à Calgary
Elle vit et travaille à Montréal

La pratique multidisciplinaire d’Hajra Waheed s’étend de la peinture et du dessin à la vidéo, à la sculpture et aux installations multimedia. Elle explore, entre autres, les connexions entre sécurité, surveillance et les réseaux de pouvoir souvent dissimulés qui régissent nos vies. Son travail s’intéresse également aux traumatismes et à l’aliénation vécus à travers l’héritage des violences coloniales et étatiques. Caractérisées par un vocabulaire visuel et une approche poétique singulière, les oeuvres de l’artiste convoquent souvent le l’ordinaire pour aborder des sujets essentiels et utilisent le paysage comme métaphore de la lutte humaine soutenant une vision radicale de résistance et de résilience.

Les expositions récentes et à venir dans le monde incluent les institutions suivantes: Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong (2024) ; Fragmentos, Espacio de Arte y Memoria, Bogotá (2024) ; Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2023) ; Biennale de Sharjah 15 (2023) ; Musée d’art contemporain, Saint-Louis (2023) ; État de concept, Athènes (2023) ; Fondation PHI pour l’art contemporain, Montréal (2021); Portikus, Francfort (2020) ; Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020) ; Biennale de Lahore 02 (2020) ; British Museum, Londres (2019) ; The Power Plant, Toronto (2019); 57e Biennale de Venise (2017) ; 11e Biennale de Gwangju (2016) ; Centre BALTIC d’art contemporain, Gateshead (2016) ; Institut KW d’art contemporain, Berlin (2015) ; La Biennale de Montréal (2014); Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, New York (2012) et Fundació Antoni Tapies, Barcelone (2012).

Waheed est récipiendaire du Sharjah Biennial 15 Prize (2023), du Hnatyshyn Foundation Award (2022), du Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award (2014) pour ses réalisations exceptionnelles en tant qu’artiste à mi-carrière et finaliste du Sobey Art Award (2016). Ses œuvres se trouvent dans des collections permanentes notamment : le Museum of Modern Art de New York ; British Museum, Londres ; Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa; Centre Pompidou, Paris ; Institut d’art de Chicago ; Burger Collection, Zurich/Hong Kong et Devi Art Foundation, New Delhi.

Télécharger CV

Hajra Waheed

Hajra Waheed was born in 1980 in Calgary
She lives and works in Montréal

Hajra Waheed’s multidisciplinary practice ranges from painting and drawing to video, sound, sculpture and installation. Amongst other issues, she explores the connections between security, surveillance and the covert networks of power that structure human lives. Her practice also addresses the traumas and alienation of displaced subjects affected by legacies of colonial and state violence. Characterized by a distinct visual language and unique poetic approach, her works often use the ordinary as a means to convey the profound, and landscape as a medium to transpose human struggle and a radical politics of resistance and resilience.

Recent and upcoming exhibitions worldwide include: Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong (2024); Fragmentos, Espacio de Arte y Memoria, Bogotá (2024); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2023); Sharjah Biennial 15 (2023); Contemporary Art Museum, St. Louis (2023); State of Concept, Athens (2023); PHI Foundation for Contemporary Art, Montreal (2021); Portikus, Frankfurt (2020); Centre Pompidou, Paris (2020); Lahore Biennial 02 (2020); British Museum, London (2019); The Power Plant, Toronto (2019); 57th Venice Biennale (2017); 11th Gwangju Biennale (2016); BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead (2016); KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2015); La Biennale de Montréal (2014); Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, New York (2012) and Fundació Antoni Tapies, Barcelona (2012).

Waheed is the recipient of the Sharjah Biennial 15 Prize (2023), the Hnatyshyn Foundation Award (2022), Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award (2014) for outstanding achievement as a mid-career artist and a finalist for the Sobey Art Award (2016). Her works can be found in permanent collections including: the Museum of Modern Art, New York; British Museum, London; National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Art Institute of Chicago; Burger Collection, Zurich/Hong Kong and Devi Art Foundation, New Delhi.

Download CV