Edgardo Aragón

Edgardo Aragón est né en 1985 à Oaxaca, au Mexique. Il vit et travaille entre Oaxaca et Mexico.

Dans le travail d’Edgardo Aragón, les structures du pouvoir, de la violence et de la politique sont abordées dans des performances enregistrées qui sont des réactivations d’événements passés, mélangeant librement les lignes de l’histoire familiale et politique. L’artiste déclare : “mon travail évolue souvent autour de la façon dont le pouvoir d’un niveau supérieur est utilisé pour segmenter une grande partie de la population”. Ses vidéos, d’apparence sereine, montrent des scénarios formés par des paysages qui cachent en fait un discours politique, développant des récits inspirés des réalités sociales quotidiennes de son pays d’origine, le Mexique. Les œuvres deviennent des documents d’une sensibilité lugubre qui attirent notre attention sur l’effroyable universalité des problèmes qu’il aborde.

Son travail a fait l’objet d’expositions individuelles dans diverses institutions, notamment au Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Oaxaca (MACO), Mexique (2017); au CAPC, Bordeaux(2016) ; au Jeu de Paume, Paris (2016) ; à Tabacalera, Madrid (2014); au Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporáneo (MUAC), Mexico, (2012); au MoMA P.S.1, New York, (2012); et la Luckman Gallery, Los Angeles, (2012).

Il a également participé à de nombreuses expositions de groupe dans des institutions telles que le MAMM, Medellín, Colombie (2019) ; le Musée d’art de Beyrouth, Liban (2018) ; la Renaissance Society à Chicago (2018) ; le Jewish Museum, New York (2015) ; le Detroit Contemporary Art Museum (2015) ; Museo Amparo, Puebla, Mexique (2013) ; Kadist Art Foundation, San Francisco (2013) ; Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris (2012 et 2011) ; San Francisco Art Institute (2011) ; Laboral Centro de Arte, Gijón, Espagne (2011) ; Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles (2010). Son travail a également été présenté à la 3ème Biennale des jeunes artistes de Moscou, à la 12ème Biennale d’Istanbul et à la 8ème Biennale du Mercosul, au Brésil, entre autres.

Ses films ont été projetés dans de nombreux festivals de cinéma à Werkleitz, en Allemagne, à Marseille, en France, et à Mexico, au Mexique. En 2015, Edgardo Aragón a fait partie du projet du Jeu de Paume “Inventer le possible », Vidéothèque éphémère.

Partager

Current exhibition

  • Les testaments trahis
  • Lawrence Abu Hamdan - Milena Bonilla - Chen Ching-Yuan - Voluspa Jarpa - Bouchra Khalili - Teresa Margolles - Oscar Muñoz
  • July 2nd - August 8th

Edgardo Aragón

Edgardo Aragón was born in 1985 in Oaxaca, Mexico. He currently lives and works between Oaxaca and Mexico City

In the work of Edgardo Aragón the structures of power, violence and politics are addressed in recorded performances that are recreations of past events, freely mixing story lines from family and political history. Describing his oeuvre, the artist has stated: “My work often evolves around how power from a higher level is used to segment a large part of the population.” His videos, serene in appearance, show scenarios formed by landscapes that in fact hide a political discourse, developing narratives inspired by the everyday social realities of his home country, Mexico. The works become documents of mournful sensibility that call our attention to the appalling universality of the problems he addresses.

His work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at various institutions including the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Oaxaca (MACO), Mexico (2017); the CAPC, Bordeaux, France (2016); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2016); Tabacalera, Madrid (2014); Museo Universitario de Arte Contemporáneo (MUAC), Mexico City, (2012); MoMA P.S.1, New York, (2012); and the Luckman Gallery, Los Angeles, (2012).

Group exhibitions where his work has been included have taken place in institutions such as the MAMM, Medellín, Colombia (2019); Beirut Museum of Art in Tripoli, Lebanon (2018); Renaissance Society in Chicago (2018); Jewish Museum, New York (2015); Museum of Contemporary Art of Detroit (2015); Museo Amparo, Puebla, Mexico (2013); Kadist Art Foundation, San Francisco (2013); Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris (2012 and 2011); San Francisco Art Institute (2011); Laboral Centro de Arte, Gijón, Spain (2011); Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels (2010). His work has also been featured in the 3rd Moscow Biennial of Young Artists; the 12th Istanbul Biennial, and the 8th Mercosul Biennial, Brazil, among others.

His films have been screened in numerous film festivals in Werkleitz, Germany; Marseille, France and Mexico City. In 2015, Edgardo Aragón was part of the Jeu de Paume project “Inventing the Possible. Ephemeral Video Library”.

Share

Current exhibition

  • Les testaments trahis
  • Lawrence Abu Hamdan - Milena Bonilla - Chen Ching-Yuan - Voluspa Jarpa - Bouchra Khalili - Teresa Margolles - Oscar Muñoz
  • July 2nd - August 8th